IT Pro is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

AWS launches its second Top Secret region

The new region offers multiple availability zones geographically distinct from AWS Top Secret-East

Amazon Web Services (AWS) has launched its second Top Secret region: AWS Top Secret-West. 

The new region, licensed to operate workloads classified as Top Secret under US security classification, adds several availability zones that are geographically separate from AWS Top Secret-East.

Together, the two Top Secret regions enable the defense, intelligence, and national security communities of the US to deploy multi-region architectures that assure maximum availability and resilience to national security missions.

Through availability zones, customers can run their applications and databases at ultra-low latency much more reliably than with a single data center. AWS also supports replicating data synchronously to a different Availability Zone within the same Region, or asynchronously to a different Region.

Commenting on security, AWS said its latest Top Secret region adheres to the Director of National Intelligence (DNI), Intelligence Community Directive (ICD 503), and National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Special Publication (SP) 800-53 Revision 4.

The firm is the first commercial cloud provider accredited to handle government workloads across the full spectrum of US government data, including Unclassified, Sensitive, Secret, and Top Secret.

Related Resource

Protecting every edge to make hackers’ jobs harder, not yours

How to support and secure hybrid architectures

White square with whitepaper title on top of a background image of a building and pavementFree download

“In 2011, we launched AWS GovCloud (US-West), making AWS the first cloud provider to build cloud infrastructure designed to meet US government security and compliance needs,” said AWS in a blog post.

“In 2014, we launched our first Top Secret region, AWS Top Secret-East, which was the first air-gapped commercial cloud accredited to support classified workloads. In 2017, we launched the AWS Secret Region.

"Today, with the launch of AWS Top Secret-West, we continue our support for mission workloads that span the full range of US government classifications."

Featured Resources

Three ways manual coding is killing your business productivity

...and how you can fix it

Free Download

Goodbye broadcasts, hello conversations

Drive conversations across the funnel with the WhatsApp Business Platform

Free Download

Winning with multi-cloud

How to drive a competitive advantage and overcome data integration challenges

Free Download

Talking to a business should feel like messaging a friend

Managing customer conversations at scale with the WhatsApp Business Platform

Free Download

Most Popular

Vodafone UK confirms talks to merge with Three are underway
mergers and acquisitions

Vodafone UK confirms talks to merge with Three are underway

3 Oct 2022
BT's new platform promises to slash AI development time from months to days
artificial intelligence (AI)

BT's new platform promises to slash AI development time from months to days

3 Oct 2022
How to secure your hybrid workforce
Advertisement Feature

How to secure your hybrid workforce

23 Sep 2022