Opinion

Security professionals need to become wellness experts
Illustration of office workers meditating
Security

Security professionals need to become wellness experts

Want to boost your defences? Take some inspiration from health gurus
17 Mar 2021
International Women’s Day: Where now for women in tech?
An illustration of a businesswoman stood in the lobby of a building in front of a set of stairs labelled 'for women' and an elevator labelled 'for men', divided by a sign with an up arrow on it labelled careers
Business strategy

International Women’s Day: Where now for women in tech?

Women have a long history of making strides in technology, yet recognition – and fair treatment – remain elusive
8 Mar 2021
I went shopping at Amazon’s till-less supermarket so that you don’t have to
A container of Amazon Fresh bags for life at the end of an aisle below a sign saying "Choose what you like, bag as you shop, just walk out! We'll email you a receipt"
automation

I went shopping at Amazon’s till-less supermarket so that you don’t have to

Are the Fresh automated stores another big-tech gimmick, or the future of grocery shopping?
5 Mar 2021
Don’t listen to Martin Scorsese, the Netflix algorithm is your friend
A directors chair with Scorsese and Netflix written upon it
Business strategy

Don’t listen to Martin Scorsese, the Netflix algorithm is your friend

While we can’t dispute his stance on the ‘art of cinema’, Scorsese’s criticism of AI is muddled
19 Feb 2021
If employees are to work from home then the office network must move with them
A group of employees on a conference call while they work from home
Network & Internet

If employees are to work from home then the office network must move with them

The 'new normal' doesn't mean we can forget traditional infrastructure needs
16 Feb 2021
It’s time to give edge computing some space
Shot of the International Space Station in orbit
data processing

It’s time to give edge computing some space

There’s no time for latency if we’re going to colonise the stars
12 Feb 2021
Managing a late migration
A Windows 10 Pro box lying on top of a Windows 7 Ultimate box, which is sitting on a table
Microsoft Windows

Managing a late migration

When it comes to moving from Windows 7 to Windows 10, it's better late than never
11 Feb 2021
Why I need a gaming monitor for work
A gaming monitor on a desk with speakers and a PC
monitors

Why I need a gaming monitor for work

We’ve done the hard work of convincing your boss, so you don’t have to
5 Feb 2021
Tweet of the Living Dead
A black and white photo of a woman in profile with an overlaid, offset image of a profile of a digital head in blue
artificial intelligence (AI)

Tweet of the Living Dead

Digital transformation of the undead could come back to bite the tech industry
2 Feb 2021
The fate of Parler exposes the reality of deregulated social media
A man holding a smartphone displaying the message "access denied" in white lettering on a red background
Policy & legislation

The fate of Parler exposes the reality of deregulated social media

Critics of Section 230 may want to be careful what they wish for…
14 Jan 2021
Can Pat Gelsinger get Intel back on track?
Pat Gelsinger onstage at VMworld 2019
chief executive officer (CEO)

Can Pat Gelsinger get Intel back on track?

After more than a decade away, the chipmaker’s prodigal son has finally returned
13 Jan 2021
IT Pro’s 2021 predictions
A hand placing wooden blocks symbolising a loading bar from 2020 to 2021
Business strategy

IT Pro’s 2021 predictions

After a tumultuous year, what will the next 12 months hold for the tech industry?
1 Jan 2021
Saying goodbye to 2020
A businessman's hand placing white squares with black lettering spelling out "Goodbye!" on a yellow background
Business strategy

Saying goodbye to 2020

The IT Pro team reflects on a year that taught us the true meaning of "disruption"
25 Dec 2020
Why can’t tech firms decide on working from home strategies?
A laptop, yellow notebook, pen, cup of tea and pair of glasses laid out on a desk
flexible working

Why can’t tech firms decide on working from home strategies?

You’d have thought companies that peddle digital transformation would have more conviction in it
15 Dec 2020
Broadband backup isn’t fit for business
A young man frustrated that his laptop isn't working
broadband

Broadband backup isn’t fit for business

Domestic web connections aren’t built for a nation of homeworkers
21 Nov 2020
Trump's election defeat isn't going to get Huawei back in the UK
The Huawei logo glowing in a darkened room
Security

Trump's election defeat isn't going to get Huawei back in the UK

The UK's decision to drop the Chinese firm from 5G networks was largely based on its competence
17 Nov 2020
Why we should all embrace procrastination
An illustration of a man sitting at his desk thinking
productivity

Why we should all embrace procrastination

Don’t feel guilty for taking time to experiment with your tools
13 Nov 2020
It's too late to let slip the robodogs of war now we have ransomware
A 3D rendering of a military robot dog
cyber warfare

It's too late to let slip the robodogs of war now we have ransomware

Why bother with killer robots when one dodgy email attachment can shutdown whole organisations?
10 Nov 2020
What remote working lessons can we learn from the first lockdown?
A cartoon of a man in business wear collapsed at his desk from fatigue
Business strategy

What remote working lessons can we learn from the first lockdown?

Get dressed, take breaks and look out for phishing emails - IT Pro’s expert advice for surviving the second lockdown
5 Nov 2020
Election day 2020: Each presidential candidate’s stance on tech
Policy & legislation

Election day 2020: Each presidential candidate’s stance on tech

Here’s how your vote in the 2020 election can impact tech
2 Nov 2020
Politicians need to stop talking about technology
Donald Trump
Policy & legislation

Politicians need to stop talking about technology

Half-baked political technobabble isn’t just embarrassing, it’s a sign of policy failure
21 Oct 2020
Don’t look to the stars for app reviews
Mobile

Don’t look to the stars for app reviews

The fixing of review scores in app stores is a major problem
17 Oct 2020
Why I’m getting cold feet over the lack of tech conferences
Business strategy

Why I’m getting cold feet over the lack of tech conferences

Let’s talk about socks, baby
16 Oct 2020